Quoting

The Star Wars trilogy was re-released in theaters when I was in high school, and I went to see all of them with my dad and my brother. We had a great time.

At some point after seeing the third, I asked my mother if she could do something for me and she said, “I’ll try.”

“Do or do not. There is no try,” I replied, thinking I was funny.

Turns out she’d only seen the first Star Wars movie and didn’t realize I was quoting Yoda and got super-pissed.

I only bring this up because when friends reject and/or cancel plans with me, I feel inclined to quote Mean Girls and say, “Boo, you whore.”

Only I’m not 100% sure that they’ve seen Mean Girls or would know I was quoting even if they had. If they don’t know what I’m talking about, won’t they just think I’m being a bitch for no reason?

Then I think to myself, “Isn’t calling someone a whore a bitchy thing to do, even if you are quoting from a movie?”

Leave a Reply

